Nude Female Back Portrait

At the world-renowned AFI Conservatory, a dedicated group of working professionals from the film and television communities serve as mentors in a hands-on, production-based environment nurturing the talents of tomorrow's storytellers. The Conservatory is consistently recognized as one of the world’s top film schools.

With an emphasis on narrative visual storytelling and personal expression, each class breaks into teams that mirror a real production environment. Those teams collaborate on and produce more films than any other graduate level film program.

Established in 1969, the two-year Master of Fine Arts program provides training in six filmmaking disciplines: Cinematography, Directing, Editing, Producing, Production Design and Screenwriting. Admission to AFI Conservatory is highly selective, with a maximum of only 140 graduates per year.



Darren Aranofsky - Black Swan, The Wrestler, Requiem for a Dream

Andrea Arnold – Wuthering Heights, Fish Tank (Both as Writer)

Gill Dennis – Walk the Line, Riders of the Purple Sage (Both as Writer)

Amy Heckerling – Clueless, Fast Times at Ridgemont High

Jonathan Levine – 50/50, The Wackness

David Lynch – Blue Velvet, Eraserhead, Mulholland Drive

Terrence Malick – The Tree of Life, The Thin Red Line, Badlands

John McTiernan – Die Hard, The Thomas Crown Affair

Paul Schrader – Raging Bull and Taxi Driver (Both as Writer)

Ed Zwick – Blood Diamond (Writer), Glory


Mikkel Bodesen - Burn Notice, The Killing (Both as Executive Producer)

Julie Dash - The Rosa Parks Story, Daughters of the Dust 

David Gross - Room, Goon

Paul Hellerman - Jackie Brown, The Mexican (Both as Co-Producer)

Allison Jones - Veep, Bridesmaids

Stefan Simchowitz - Requiem for a Dream, Wild (Both as Executive Producer)

Heidi Levitt - The Artist, Natural Born Killers 

Steve Golin - Spotlight, The Revenant

Pieter Jan Brugge - The Insider, Heat (Both as Executive Producer)


David Arata – Children of Men, Spy Game

Brad Falchuk – American Horror Story, Glee, Nip/Tuck

Scott Frank – Minority Report, Out of Sight

John Shiban – Breaking Bad, The X-Files


Caleb Deschanel – The Natural, The Right Stuff, The Black Stallion

Robert Elswit – There Will Be Blood, Good Night And Good Luck

Janusz Kamiński – Saving Private Ryan, Schindler's List

Rachel Morrison – Fruitvale Station, Cake Dope

Wally Pfister – Inception, The Dark Knight

Robert Richardson – Inglorious Basterds, The Aviator


Victor DuBois – The Last Samurai, Grey's Anatomy

Affonso Gonçalves – Beasts of the Southern Wild, True Detective

Howard Smith – The Abyss, Glengarry Glenross


Andrew Max Cahn – Up in The Air, The Hangover

Theresa Guleserian – Togethernes, The Overnight, The One I Love

Sharon Seymour – The Town, The Ides of March

Website Designed by Yaxuan Liu & Shu Zhu Illustration by Aries Yuanzhou Qian
©2017 Sounder Productions. All rights reserved.
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon